by Tim Sharrock and Stephen Agar
0.Regular Diplomacy rules apply except when they don't.
1.The game begins in Winter 1900 which is played as a separate season.. Players may decide which type of unit to build in their home centres in readiness for Spring 1901. Russia may build F(StP)nc if it wishes.
2.Any army in a coastal province may, instead of being ordered to move or support, be ordered to turn into a fleet. Such a transformation will be successful provided the unit is not dislodged that move.
3.Rising sea levels result in the gradual submergence of provinces according to Table 1 below. Submergences occur every year after any adjustments in Winter. Once submerged, a s.c. is effectively destroyed and may not be used for the following Winter's adjustments.
Table 1 - Submergences
W 1901: Lon, Hol, Bel, Gas, Ven, Lvn.
W 1902: Yor, Pic, Apu, Rum, Sev, Fin, Syr, Den, Lpl.
W 1903: Arm, Bre, StP, Par, Tus, Nap, Bud, Kie.
W 1904: Ber, Mos, Mar, Por, Rom, Vie, Bul, Gre, Pru, Ruh, Gal, Ukr, Con
W 1905: Wal, Cly, Swe, Tri, Alb, War, Ice
W 1906: Edi, Spa, Tun, Ser, Smy, Sil, Boh.
W 1907: Nwy, Mun, Pie, Tyr, NAf, Bur, Ank.
4.Armies in provinces which submerge are drowned!
5.New supply centres are formed in the course of the game, after all Winter retreats and adjustments, according to Table 2.
Table 2 - New Supply Centres
W 1901: Wal, Ruh, Tyr.
W 1902: Ukr, Ice
W 1903: Pie.
W 1904: Boh, Sil.
W 1905: Swi
W 1906: NAf
When a new s.c. is created it immediately comes under the control of (1) any unit occupying that province, (2) the last country to have a unit in that province (spring or autumn), (3) the country within whose boundary the new s.c. lies or (4) if none of the above it is neutral.
6 Iceland is a valid space in this variant and it becomes passable after W 1901. The province of Switzerland becomes passable after W 1904.
6.Players may build units in any vacant supply centre which they control.
7.All Abstraction A/F convoy rules apply.
8.The winner is the survivor (if any) after W 1908.
Changes And Comments
The main changes are
•variable Winter 1901 placements
•addition of Iceland as a space and centre
•Con sinks a move earlier than in Deluge I
•confirmation that armies in sinking spaces drown, but flexible rules to allow the conversion of armies to fleets (but not vice versa)
•builds can be taken in any vacant owned centre.
Additional Rule Revisions
1. Creation of coasts. When a land space sinks at the end of a winter, coastal provinces may be created. If there are ANY fleets BUILT in these territories that will have multi coasts, the player must decide during the current WINTER which coast the fleet will be on. For established fleets, the GM will assign a coast based on the previous fall move.
Eg at the end of winter 1901, venice sinks creating 2 coasts in ROME, Piedmont and Tuscany.
if Italy builds a fleet in Rome, he must declare a coast.
If France had move a fleet to piedmont, it would be placed on the gulf of lyon coast side.
If a fleet had been moved to Tuscany, it would be placed on the gulf of lyon coast side.
2. Convoy (also know as fast Ferry in some versions of the game) A fleet that carries an army over one sea space is convoying or fast ferrying. That is classified as it's move. If a CONVOY fails, then an A/F is created.
3. Army- Fleet Rules.
a) An A/F may only consist of two units belonging to the same country. IF a resulting move would see a creation of a multi-country A/F then the Army is returned to space it embarked from.
b) An A/F has the same "combat factor" as a single fleet; it may attack, support or be supported.
c) An A/F cannot convoy another army.
d) An Army cannot board an A/F.
e) An A/F can only exist in a sea space - it cannot be ordered to a coastal province as an entity - but it may support some other unit into a coastal province.
f) If an army is ordered to board a fleet, and the A/F is prevented from moving to another sea space the A/F remains intact.
g) If an army is ordered to board a fleet, and the fleet is attacked from another sea space, or if the fleet is ordered to support another unit, the army is considered to have failed to board and it remains in its land province. This is true even if the fleet successfully defends itself against attack.
h) A fleet which lands an army in a coastal province, before making a move, may then support that army to land as its move, or it may move elsewhere. If an army's disembarkation fails, the A/F remains intact and any orders for fleet movement will not be carried out.
i) A fleet may not simultaneously land one army and pick up another.
j) If an A/F is annihilated, then both units are removed from the board.
k) An A/F can be ordered to HOLD. (ie A Lon embarks F Nth, a/F nth Holds)
l) Retreats, Dislodgements and Annihilation. If an A/F is dislodged whilst trying to disembark its A, this move fails and the A and F must retreat together. If an A/F is dislodged and can only retreat to a land space (no suitable sea space being available), the F may retreat but the A is destroyed.
m)Where an A disembarks from the F, and the F then moves away without supporting the A; if the now vacated sea space is then occupied by another unsupported F or A/F, the A disembarkation succeeds; if the second occupation is supported, the disembarkation fails and the A continues with the F.
SO - Now you are completly confused.
CORRECT MOVE EXAMPLES:
A(Lon) E F(ENG); A/F(ENG) - MAO; A(MAO) D Por.
A/F(ENG); A(ENG) D Bre; F(ENG) - NTH.
A/F(ENG); F(ENG) S A(ENG) D Bre.
F(ENG) convoys A(Lon) - Bre.
INCORRECT MOVE EXAMPLE
A(Lon) E F(ENG); F(ENG) S A(Lon) - Bre.
Deluge Strategy Articles: