Double Diplomacy is a variant of standard diplomacy with the standard map. Each of the seven players control TWO great powers instead of one, but each great power is controlled by two players as well. This means that each power has 'two captains' who must sail their ship and you have two of those ships under your control... Explanation follows now.
Distribution Of Players/Powers:
To make the distribution of powers and players more clear, the distribution is shown on the table below.
One England and Turkey Two Turkey and Germany Three Germany and Italy Four Italy and Russia Five Russia and France Six France and Austria Seven England and Austria
So, in this variant you have more control on the board (two powers under your control!), but also more to diplome because you don't rule your powers alone! Do you think you can agree with your secondants or do you prefer to work alone?
Submission And Adjudication Of Moves
Because one power is controlled by two players, there are always two sets of orders for each power submitted. However, at a certain point in the game, the orders the two rulers give could be different.
The GM will only execute those orders which 'synchronize'. That is, units not in sync by the two rulers will hold (example 1) . There is only one exception to this rule: A unit ordered to hold by one of the two players will be 'overruled' by a support order (example 2). Note however that move-orders will NOT overrule hold orders (example 2).
The GM will adjudicate in two steps. First he will 'sync' all the orders, giving all units not in sync the hold order. After that he will adjudicate the moves for the seven great powers.
F Lon not in sync
Player 1 orders for England
A Lvp to Yor F Edi to Nwg F Lon to Nth
Player 7 orders for England
A Lvp to Yor F Edi to Nwg F Lon to ENG
Moves to go into adjudication:
A Lvp tp Yor F Edi tp Nwg F Lon hold
A Pic support-order overrules HOLD-order. A Spa move order does not overrule HOLD-order
Player 5 orders for France
A Pic hold F MAO to Por A Spa to Mar
Player 6 orders for France
A Pic supports (E) F Nth - Bel F MAO to Por A Spa hold
Moves to go into adjudication:
A Pic support (E) F Nth - Bel F MAO to Por A Spa hold
After the GM has 'synced' all orders, all normal standard diplomacy rulings apply in the adjudication fase.
Double Diplomacy Winning Conditions
This game is won by the two players if the power under their control has 14 supply centers after a fall move. (example: players 3 and 4 win the game if Italy has 14 SC).
Adjustments to Double Diplomacy By Stephen Lytton
1) NMR by a player, means that the other player's orders are used. 2) SOLO win - bring your two countries to a combined SC count of 21. 3) Countries will be assigned randomly. 4) Once every 2 years, every player may OVERRIDE one order by their joint leader and have their own order followed. 5) A reasonable attempt will be made to seek a replacement player in this game. 6) If a player submits a VOID and IMPOSSIBLE rule (such as Army London – Moscow) then the other player’s orders will overrule it. 7) A Solo win outranks a joint win. Therefore if one player brings their 2 countries to a combined SC of 21 they will beat 2 players who bring one country to a SC of 14 (if done in the same winter).
If 2 or more players both achieve 21 plus SC then the one with the highest SC count will be declared the winner.
If 2 or more players draw on their SC count of 21 or over then an immediate JOINT WIN (not a JOINT SOLO) will be offered to those players. They can vote YES to accept the joint win or NO to force the game into a TIEBREAK situation. Only players with 21 or more SC can vote in this vote.
If the game continues in a TIEBREAK situation it will be played until ONE of those players has a larger number of SC (and over 21 at the end of winter, ie a clear leader). This section of the game shall be called TIE-BREAK. NO DIAS proposals will be accepted once the TIEBREAK game starts and no other player (apart from those named in the tiebreak) can win the game from hereon.